Death · Lifeguard's Saga

A Lifeguard’s Saga – Ep.4 – Time passes by.

nadador-salvador

This entry has two categories. First because it started as a Lifeguard’s Saga long before I even knew it would exist.

In 2013 or 2014, I don’t remember if it was two years in a row or just 2014 alone, I met a old couple around their 80’s who came to the beach almost every morning if the weather was good. They were very nice to me, and I learned a lot from the stories that they shared with me. Two of those I’ll even adapt to use on my future books.
When the summer was over, the beaches cease to be watched by the lifeguards and as such I stopped seeing them. In 2015 I did not work as a lifeguard in the summer but this year I recycled the course and I’m currently working as one in the same beach as before.
They gave me their number before, in case if I was passing by their town, to give them a call and pay them a visit. Such a thing never came to pass.

IMG_20160706_184939
And now, for the second category, this year when the summer season started I expected to see everyone that used to come around the beach, and indeed I did, except for that old couple. The old man, who had survived stomach cancer already, wasn’t getting any younger it was very likely that he could have passed away.
A lot could have happened in two years… I met people who died in that same period of time. I refrained from calling the number I have, afraid of hearing the bad and old news but also to invoke the memory of the one(s) lost to whoever could answer that phone.
Today, the woman came to the beach accompanied by a young man who I strongly guess him to be her son.
My cowardliness got the best of me.
I don’t have the courage to bring myself before her. Because in doing so, I’d automatically bring back those memories of the one common to us, who is now surely beneath the ground.
I just can’t do it and if I must avoid her every time she goes there, so be it. I really don’t want to create such a delicate situation. I’ll do my best however, to keep the stories that the old man had passed to me with the same humour and drama as he told me in numerous shiny days at the beach. Those at least, you may expect to read about one day.

2 thoughts on “A Lifeguard’s Saga – Ep.4 – Time passes by.

Leave a Reply

